

# Extraordinary Meeting of the Council Minutes - 18 July 2018

## Attendance

Mayor	Cllr Phil Page (Lab)
Deputy Mayor	Cllr Claire Darke (Lab)

## Labour

Cllr Obaida Ahmed Cllr Ian Angus Cllr Harbans Bagri Cllr Harman Banger Cllr Mary Bateman Cllr Philip Bateman MBE Cllr Payal Bedi-Chadha Cllr Peter Bilson Cllr Alan Bolshaw Cllr Greg Brackenridge Cllr Ian Brookfield Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Craig Collingswood Cllr Jasbinder Dehar

## Conservative

Cllr Simon Bennett Cllr Christopher Haynes Cllr Sohail Khan Cllr Paul Singh

## Employees

Kevin O'Keefe Tim Johnson Meredith Teasdale Ian Fegan Tracey Christie Laura Phillips Emma Bennett David Watts Alison Shannon Jaswinder Kaur Henry Gregory Cllr Steve Evans Cllr Val Evans Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal Cllr Val Gibson Cllr Dr Michael Hardacre Cllr Celia Hibbert Cllr Keith Inston Cllr Jasbir Jaspal Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal Cllr Welcome Koussoukama Cllr Roger Lawrence Cllr Hazel Malcolm Cllr Asha Mattu Cllr Barbara McGarrity

Cllr Udey Singh Cllr Jane Stevenson Cllr Wendy Thompson Cllr Jonathan Yardley

Director of Governance Deputy Managing Director Director of Education Head of Communications Head of Legal Head of Business Management Director of Children's Services Director of Adult Services Chief Accountant Democratic Services Manager Graduate Management Trainee

Cllr Louise Miles Cllr Beverley Momenabadi Cllr Lynne Moran Cllr Anwen Muston Cllr Peter O'Neill Cllr Rita Potter Cllr John Reynolds Cllr Susan Roberts MBE Cllr Zee Russell Cllr Sandra Samuels OBE Cllr Stephen Simkins Cllr Clare Simm Cllr Paul Sweet Cllr Jacqueline Sweetman Cllr Martin Waite

The proceedings opened with Prayers

#### Item No. Title

## 1 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Alan Butt and Arun Photay.

## 2 **Declarations of interest**

There were no declarations of interest made.

## 3 **Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman**

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Roger Lawrence presented the report on Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman. He requested that pursuant to the powers contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman to former Councillors Ian Claymore, Barry Findlay, Malcolm Gwinnett, Andrew Johnson, Christine Mills, Patricia Patten, Judith Rowley and Andrew Wynne in recognition of their eminent services to the City of Wolverhampton Council.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Roger Lawrence advised that at present former Councillor Tersaim Singh requested not to be considered for Honorary Alderman.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Roger Lawrence proposed the recommendations, Councillor Wendy Thompson seconded the recommendations. They paid tribute to the contributions of former Councillors Ian Claymore, Barry Findlay, Malcolm Gwinnett, Andrew Johnson, Christine Mills, Patricia Patten, Judith Rowley and Andrew Wynne had made to the City of Wolverhampton.

### Resolved:

That the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillors Ian Claymore, Barry Findlay, Malcolm Gwinnett, Andrew Johnson, Christine Mills, Patricia Patten, Judith Rowley and Andrew Wynne.